Aspiring Warrior Tanks Wanna Know

TGAPGeorge – Warrior Tank

Tanking stats; they tell us where we need to be to do what we gotta do.   A few months ago I scoured the net looking for an answer to a simple question:

“What are the minimum stats I need to have?”

The answers were suprisingly difficult to find — and never found all in one place.  TankSpot, TankingTips, and ElitistJerks helped a great deal, but I still found a lot of things like, “Have 102.4% avoidance,” but never an explanation on what that meant.  More importantly, when I looked at my character, often the numbers didn’t match.  (For example, have 214 expertise. In-game, the character sheet says 25.)

Don’t get me wrong, I’m in awe of the work done to figure all this out.  It’s just I wish I had found a list that clearly, plainly, and simply suggested the accepted stat goals.  Heh, like the one I did here.

So for the inquisitive Warrior Tank, here are your minimums.

For Heroics:

  • Defense      535  (To be uncrittable)
  • Health        20k
  • Armor        20k
  • Expertise    25  (To remove Boss parries)

For Naxx:

  • Defense      540 (To be uncrittable, but more is better)
  • Health        25k
  • Armor        23k
  • Strength    820
  • Dodge        20%
  • Parry        16%
  • Block        19%
  • Expertise    25**
  • Hit    **

**Now, you have a choice between going for either of these

  • Expertise    57  (To remove Boss parries and dodges)
  • Hit     265  (So you don’t, uh… miss)

There’s a choice because I can’t figure out how to get both, even with gems and enchants.  If anyone knows an equipment/gems/enchants combination that will do it, please let me know!

I am not the authority on this, these are just the answers I found to my stat questions.  For more detailed info, well, visit the links above.

Now go get ‘em!

3 Responses to Aspiring Warrior Tanks Wanna Know

  1. Namthe says:

    You only need 535 defense to be uncrittable in heroics, as the highest level mob there is level 82 (sorry if it seems like I’m only posting corrections, I didn’t intend that way)

    As for expertise / hit, you can always go for http://www.wowhead.com/?item=40058 (accurate monarch topaz) though to be honest until you hit 57 expertise I wouldn’t worry about hit so much.

  2. TGAPGeorge says:

    Hey, posting corrections is better than nothing. I can’t claim any of these stats personally. I didn’t do the math, I didn’t do the research. I just listened to my guildies, fellow players, and read great Tanking blogs.

    This list is the culmination of all the questions and theorycraft conversations I had in the first couple months of being a tank. I found bits and pieces of it all over the net, but never in one spot.

    Your comment is a lot like many conversations I’ve had in-game. Imagine that you, Namthe, Me, and a noob Tank are chatting in Vent. This is how our conversation would go:

    Noob Tank – “Hey, for heroics, what does my defense have to be?”
    Me – “It’s got to be 540 so the bosses can’t crit ya.”
    Noob Tank – “Cool, thanks.”
    Namthe – “Actually, since the bosses in heroics are only 82, you only have to be 535 defense.”
    Me – “Really? I didn’t know that. Wish I had been told that when I hit lvl 80. Woulda saved some time.”
    Noob Tank – “Cool, thanks. Uh, anyone wanna run Nexus?”

    One of the main purposes of this blog — and I think most Tanking blogs — is helping out fellow Tanks. In doing that, I’d rather get it right, than be “right.”

    Thanks!

  3. resources says:

    Can I simply say what a comfort to find somebody who genuinely understands what they are discussing on the
    internet. You actually realize how to bring an issue to
    light and make it important. More and more people should read this and understand
    this side of your story. It’s surprising you are not more popular because you most certainly possess the gift.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

