Omen and the Lunar Festival

TGAPGeorge – Warrior Tank

So it was late Thursday night and my Warlock friend Jerexyrd and I were wondering what to do. We were already maxed out on professions and secondary professions — at least as much as we could do that night. We’d already done our dailies. We couldn’t find a healer.

Then we got the idea to do some of the easy Lunar Festival achievements like Frenzied Firecracker and The Rocket’s Red Glare. These motivated us to port to Moonglade for Lunar Festival Finery.

Then we realized that we were eligable and in the right place to get Elune’s Blessing. Kill Omen, a two-headed devil dog? No problem! We had a basic idea of what to do, but when our five fireworks produced nothing, I got onto WowHead to see what we needed to do while Jerexyrd went back for more cluster bombs. As we discovered, it was really good that we didn’t have enough fireworks to summon Omen.

omen-shotWhile reading the comments for the achievement, I discovered that Omen wasn’t just some 80 elite pushover. No, he was a “skull-level” elite boss that would have munched on us but good. We had to get some help.


I converted to a raid and invited everyone in the immediate area. I got on LFG and invited everyone there. I had someone who was still in Dalaran pimp for me as well. What we got was about twenty-two players, ranged 43 to 80, and no healers. (There was a shortage, remember?)

“Screw it! Let’s give it a try,” was the general consensus, so with much bombs bursting in air, we summoned Omen. I noticed two things right off the bat. The first was that while my gear was preventing damage spikes, it was still draining at such a rate that I wouldn’t last a minute. The second thing I noticed was after thirty seconds of mostly 80s unloading on the boss, we hadn’t made a dent in him. Just so you know, Omen has 5.5 MILLION hp. I started popping my cooldowns.

I remembered reading that Elrune’s Candle weakened or really hurt Omen so I started hitting him with that. It didn’t do a damn thing. The candle is great for doing 1000+ dps (just global cooldown) with little threat. So technically, with a good tank/healer team, a ton of lowbies could take out Omen. Anyway, even with the use of the candle, I died pretty quick.

Here’s where Omen becomes the most fun Boss in WoW. The graveyard is but forty yards away. You can rez and get right back into the action. Anyone — Horde or Alliance, in raid group or not — can attack Omen AND get Elrune’s Blessing; the quest item buff needed to complete Elrune’s Blessing. So basically, whoever is in the area can go crazy on the Boss, die, rez, rinse and repeat until the demon puppy goes down. It was a ton of fun!

I guess fighting a Boss for fifteen minutes is an attention grabber because I saw our raid group grow to twenty-five, then a lot more alliance joined in. Horde started showing up on the outskirts of the scrum. They didn’t hassle us and eventually joined in. I would die, rez, bandage, taunt, and go crazy for a minute or so. I did this three times. After the third time, I saw my health was staying full – a healer had arrived! With that, the fight went on steadily and soon Omen was toast.

I’ve got to admit I had a pretty strong feeling of accomplishment. Even with the close graveyard, open rez, and a group friendly atmosphere, it seemed like an huge task for such a under-leveled, under-geared, and mismatched group to attempt. But we downed him and it felt great!

Now all that’s left for me to do in the Lunar Festival is go around to all of the elders.

Anyone up for a Horde city Raid?

Leave a Reply

