My New Warrior Tanking UI

TGAPGeorge – Warrior Tank

I’ve been fascinated with addons ever since my little brother showed me how to load up a much better map interface. And now, about a year later, I took a day or two off from playing World of Warcraft to update my addons and User Interface. Well, update isn’t the right word. It was more like blasting away and rebuilding from scratch. At least, it was supposed to be.

I was tired of lag and slow loading screens, and I even thought about deleting and reloading WoW. But then I looked line by line at my addons and saw that I needed most of them. So I deleted what I didn’t need and started surfin’ the net.

After a long time, I pieced together a mosic of the UI I wanted from about ten screenshots of other people’s UIs. My goals were simple and tanking minded. I wanted to:

  • Have a clear field of view up, down, left, and right to spot trouble coming.
  • Have Omen, my target, its debuffs — and a cool addon, “TellMeWhen” — center-screen for maximum visibility.
  • Have my spells in clear-view, organized, and laid out like how they are on my G13 controller.

That may seem like a simple list, but it’s undoable without addon help. Here is what I came up with:

newuicombat3-3-09

Pretty nice, eh?

I decided to leave my buffs up in the upper left hand corner because they would take up too much real estate down below and not be too distracting above. You can’t see it in the pic, but the party and raid will be in the upper right, but smaller than usual; left there for the same reasons as the buffs.

In the middle is TellMeWhen with Omen right below. Just to the right is my target. It’s obvious, and any buffs I have on him will be larger than other player’s. The minimap is far off to the right out of the way, and the same for chat and other non-combat buttons on the left. My player window is below and obvious, but doesn’t block my eye path.g13

My reasoning for all this careful placement is that when I’m fighting, quick looks down need to see target and threat first, reactive spells and abilities next, spells and cooldowns after, and finally my health and rage. I think I’ve got it set up to do that.

A word on spells and my organization. Take a look at the button layout of my awesome G13 Logitech controller:

You’ll notice that I’ve got my action buttons set at two rows of seven, an “alt” row of seven, and a “shift” row of seven. Closer to the minimap on the right hand side is three rows of four buttons to match the third row on my controller (I use the fifth button on the left for tab targeting). It’s a lot of buttons and a lot to keep track of, but since they are arranged like my controller, a glance down helps me hit the right button.

So, TGAPGeorge, how do you do all of these wonderful things? I’ll tell ya. Addons. Take a look at these two screenshots showing what addons were used to do what:

In Combat
new-ui-explanation-3-3-09

Out of Combat
new-ui-noncombat-explained-3-3-9

Here is a list of the addons that contributed to this UI awesomeness:

Even if you load up all these addons, your UI won’t magically look like mine. It will be jumbled and crazy. But with patience, you can move, resize, and adjust it all to look just like you want it to. Don’t forget to look at the options!

Addons can be finicky, so if you have any quesitons or problems working with these, post a comment and I’ll see what I can do to help!

Enjoy!

12 Responses to My New Warrior Tanking UI

  1. Grendalsh says:

    Followed link here from WoWInsider. I’m a mod wonk – spend more time playing the UI game than leveling 🙂 Interesting layout; you’ve definitely minimized clutter in the gaming area. My first impression, though, was that you had a lot of dead space in the blacked out area. Once I understood you were doing it to match the G13, it made more sense. It’s awesome that you’ve put up a practical guide to show hot to leverage the peripheral through in-game mods.
    Personally, I’m sold on the Nostromo N52te, but the G13 looks quite tasty. I’d be interested what you think of my warrior tank layout for the N52te – http://www.youtube.com/profile?user=worldctzen.
    RAGE ON!

  2. Feroby says:

    If you target or your target of target has debuffs they will pop out of the skinner bar won’t they? it will make it a lot less clean right?

  3. […] got an interesting question on the post, My New Warrior Tanking UI.  Feroby […]

  4. Bruno says:

    I think each of us has its own ways and tips, even if your UI looks nice, I wouldn’t be able to play with it !

    I need big buttons as I’m a mouse player, so I use bartender and 3 bars (rows) scaled in a way that very common actions (main cycle) are on the top big one and refreshing actions (like auras) are on the lowest and smallest one.

    Also I make a much larger use of sides of the screen, left side is for party/raid units, right side is used for out of combat buttons, recount…

    Omen frame sits just at the right of my main button frames.

    Player unit frame is centered under my avatar, between target and focus frames.

    I also have a square light minimap with bags, outfitter… on the right bottom corner^^

    If you whish I could send a screen.

  5. this is a great post. i will make sure i come back more ofthen to check other posts.thanks for sharing

  6. Justin says:

    Here is a great addon that will help you heaps when tanking. as taunt is a great skill that all tanks should use to keep all threat on you, taunt master has a list of all players names and you can taunt just by left clicking there name, or intervene so they lose 10% threat and you take the damage still from that attack by right clicking. you can also program more in but these are the 2 default ones other then shift left click for mocking blow (but that is almost never a option unless dps is melee so keep in case they are.

  7. new player guide…

    […]My New Warrior Tanking UI « I’m Tanking What?![…]…

  8. You could definitely see your skills within the paintings you write. The sector hopes for more passionate writers like you who are not afraid to say how they believe. Always follow your heart.

  9. Generally I don’t read post on blogs, however I wish to say that this write-up very forced me to try and do so! Your writing style has been amazed me. Thanks, very nice article.

  10. Hi! Do you know if they make any plugins to protect against hackers?

    I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve
    worked hard on. Any suggestions?

  11. I appreciate, cause I found just what I was taking a look
    for. You have ended my 4 day lengthy hunt!
    God Bless you man. Have a nice day. Bye

  12. If some one needs expert view concerning running a blog afterward i recommend him/her to pay a quick visit this website, Keep up the fastidious job.

Leave a Reply

