No One Said Being Good Is Easy – Part 1

Surazc – Death Knight Tank

Hello ITW community! I’ve been gone for a while because life has been hectic for me as of late with my relationship on the brink of collapse and a trip to Mexico for oral surgery. Such are the way things go with life and all its curveballs.

/nice

Prior to writing this article, I popped open an email sent to me from our omnipotent editor here at ITW detailing the fundamentals of running a successful blog. One of those said to NEVER be arrogant or claim yourself to be better than your readers. Keeping this in mind, I wrote the following:

I Am Better than You

An introduction to the dilemma of being better than most of your server

One of the things that irritates me more than anything else in the world are the people who I have to carry on my shoulders through a raid instance. I’ll be generous here and exempt heroics from this zone of objective anger… scratch that, no I won’t. Allow me to make a bold statement here:

This game is beyond easy.

So how in the world can you be bad at it? I understand lag can make you believe you are standing in the right place when in actuality are not; however, using lag as an excuse for jumping off the center ring in The Occulus is a bit absurd. Connection issues can be a pain at times but they don’t make you accidentally taunt Sartharion and kill your raid. The only explanation for anything of the two examples above boils down to either inattentiveness or a lack of player skill.

How about the healing paladin in my raids who dies to the Heigan dance every time without failure even though his latency is below 210ms at all times, or the tank I saw last night in the Eye of Eternity who complained at my moving Malygos around to prevent him from eating power sparks when he refused to attack them?

With the internet the way it is I would expect players to go onto some website (google.com, wowwiki.com, etc.) and learn about the fight’s basic principles before wading into a raid group and claiming they know what they are doing. Case in point: Achievements. With the way that the achievement system has been set up, I consistently watch people get into 10-man Malygos PuG runs by linking their achievement for the heroic version and then proceed to NOT KNOW PHASE THREE.

I do not understand how this, any of this, is possible.

Determined to find the answer I acted cordial (a difficult thing for me) towards one of the people in this EoE PuG run who died in phase three and asked what to do. His response was, “I don’t know, when I do this boss with my guild I always die.”

WHAT. THE. FUCK.

This guy made me so angry that I actually had to physically remove myself from my keyboard lest I enact my fail-safe plan to destroy the world and all its inhabitants. The raid leader for this EoE allowed someone who knew nothing about the instance into the run because he had the heroic achievement.

*sigh*

Coming up in Part 2, Surazc discusses PuGs while his finger caresses the edge of his “Deploy N. Korea” button.

7 Responses to No One Said Being Good Is Easy – Part 1

  1. TGAPGeorge says:

    Dude, you went to Mexico for oral surgery? Did you count your kidneys before you left?

    And are you trying to piss of the Editor? You know how he gets…

  2. Surazc says:

    Yeah, all three kidneys are still there.

    As for the Editor: he can kiss my ass for this one. Him and I have some disagreements from time to time but when I get angry I need to write something down and he knows it.

    Hopefully he won’t try and disassemble my articles, I really don’t want to aim Korea at him.

  3. Kel says:

    I just came across this post, and I have to say I find what you describe here happening A LOT. I found this site linked on another blog: PugChecker. I might help weed out the ones who’ve done a fight too few times to actually know it. Some people learn fights faster than others, but on in pug raids for a dungeon like EoE you don’t really want to take any chances.

  4. TGAPGeorge says:

    Wow, Kel!

    I just checked myself — BumpySpleen — on the site PugChecker and it was cool!

    It was fast, easy to read, and perfect for figuring out who done what.

    Nice find

  5. Surazc says:

    Kel:

    Thanks bud. I’m going to have to book mark that one.

  6. […] Paladin had the ‘Im Better than You’ attitude!! That comment set the tone. These people should quit WoW, but probably need somewhere for […]

Leave a Reply

