No One Said Being Good Is Easy – Part 6

Surazc – Death Knight Tank

My highly-paid counter-snipers earned their bonuses so I return to conclude with this thought:

I Am Better than You

The dilemma of being better than most of your server

Fixing The Server’s Players

Specifically: Players who are bad

Do not try and be politically correct about this topic. If you do, you will find that you can’t say anything. There are players of this game that are (somehow) terrible at its game elements. Maybe they have a physical handicap that prevents them from playing at the same level as those of us fortunate enough to have not been crippled by an accident or born handicapped. Maybe they’re just terrible at the game.

No matter what the reason may be, address these people directly and with no bullshit. Ask them if they know what they’re doing (or did) wrong. Start off cordial, progress to educational, and then if they resist, to hostility. A good example follows:

You: “Terbad, do you know what you did wrong that fight?”
Terbad: “No, is there something I should know about the boss?”
You: *Facepalm* “Yes Terbad, you aren’t supposed to stand in the blue lightning that comes from the sky. It kills you rather quickly.”
Terbad: “Oh, I thought it was a ray of power which makes you stronger.”
You: “Nope, it just kills you, let’s try again and this time, stay out of it.”
*** Terbad fails again ***
You: “I thought I told you not to stand in the lightning!”
Terbad: “I didn’t stand in the lightning, but I couldn’t avoid the purple circle on the floor!”
You: “Yes you could have… you could have strafed left.”
Terbad: “How can you watch both our characters at the same time!?”
You: “I have my camera zoomed out as to have a better view of the battlefield.”
Terbad: “OH WOW, I CAN SEE MYSELF!”
*** Terbad is kicked from the group ***

That is a pretty solid recollection of my run-in with a rogue who thought that the blue drakes in Occulus 2nd boss healed you when they breathed their lightning on the platform as commanded by the boss you are trying to kill. Turns out he not only did not know anything about Occulus, but he also didn’t know anything about the game. He had actually bought his character on eBay — as the friend he invited to come with us on the run would later tell us.
The moral of the above story is that some people you can teach and some you can’t. The ones you can teach may be willing to learn. If they are, keep them around… they’ll figure it out and become average raiders. The ones you can’t… get rid of. Put them on ignore, get them out of your guild, get out of the way of their Failtrain. You don’t want to be anywhere near it when it crashes at LOLZ MPH into the wall.

/Rant

Thanks for reading! Please send all praise, constructive criticism, anger, and psychotic behavior in the form of comments to Surazc. Or money. Money is good too.

Part 5

5 Responses to No One Said Being Good Is Easy – Part 6

  1. Yakra says:

    I pug on occasion, usually on alts – as a way for gaining greater appreciation for my guild. I tend to go into angry raid leader mode less for minor infractions (people being behind the pack on a corpse run, taking an AFK right before a boss, or missing an enchant on a piece of gear they got the night before) – when I PuG, and see just how terrible people can be (and how lucky I am).

  2. Surazc says:

    Yakra,

    I feel you mon! I run a heroic chain group at least once a week and I’ve actually had to create a series of 4 macros detailing my expectations for the group and what we’re doing so that there’s no confusion as to what the group is all about.

    Really, I feel where you’re coming from.

  3. My site. says:

    Look at this….

    Sweet site dude, check out mine when you get a min……

  4. mojo says:

    sorry mon,
    you are not better. it sounds that you fail.. fail to find your place in world, to set things right and therefore you hide under mask of wow-pro.

    normaly you just don’t give a s***t (meaning don’t rant) about noobs and lamers.

    no offence, ya.

  5. Surazc says:

    I know my place in the world… It is to call people like you on their insurmountable level of complete bullshit.

    If you don’t give a shit about noobs and lamers then the only conclusions that can be made about you are that:

    A) You are of the offending population and unaware of your failure

    B) You do not care about who you group with and are ergo doomed to mediocrity

    If you are part of case A, then the rest of my argument is irrelevant because you lack the mental capacity to understand it; however, if you are part of case B, then I don’t care about what you have to say.

    If you don’t want to be the best, then what do you want to be? Second best? What kind of miserable goal is that? If someone or something pisses you off, you do something about it. I can’t kill my own faction (sadly) so I berate them here. It may not accomplish anything, but it makes me feel better (and saves the lives of postal workers all over the planet).

    So, no offense ya, but you are an imbecile.

Leave a Reply

